Yokohama F. Marinos is a Japanese football club based in the city of Yokohama. They currently feature in the J League and are one of the most successful Japanese football clubs in the J League era, having won 3 J Leagues and finished runners-up twice.

Yokohama F. Marinos were founded in 1972 originally as the company team of Nissan Motors. They gained promotion to the Japan Soccer League Division in 1976 and won the championships in 1988 and 1989.

Country Japan Japan
City Yokohama
Founded 1972

In 1991 the club was one of the founding members of the J League and in 1992-1993 won the Asian Cup Winners’ Cup. In 1998 crosstown rivals Yokohama Flugels were absorbed into the club and an “F” was added to the team, making the club Yokohama F. Marinos.

Yokohama play their home matches at the Nissan Stadium that can hold 72,327 spectators.

Some of the club’s achievements include:-2 Japan Soccer League-5 Emperor’s Cup-1 Asian Cup Winners’ Cup-3 J League titles