FC Lokomotiv Moscow is a Russian football club based in the city of Moscow. They currently feature in the Russian Premier League.


FC Lokomotiv Moscow were established in 1923 as Club of the October Revolution. 8 years later in 1931, the club came to be known as Kazanka (Moskovskaya-Kazankaya Zh.D). 5 years later in 1936, they finally became Lokomotiv Moscow. During the USSR communist rul,e Lokomotiv Moscow were a part of the Lokomotiv Voluntry Sports Society.

In the 1990s, Lokomotiv Moscow were not a huge club and were considered one of the weakest teams in Moscow. But under coach Yuri Semin and president Valeri Filatov, the club soon gathered momentum and played in European competitions. In 2002, they moved to a new stadium which is easily one of the best in Eastern Europe.

Lokomotiv also reached the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup twice in 1998 and 1999 and played in the second group stage in the UEFA Champions League in the 2002-2003 season.

Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
City Moscow
Founded 1923
Ground RZD Arena
Nickname Loko
Captain Vedran Corluka
Coach Marko Nikolić

In 2002 Lokomotiv Moscow won the Russian Premier League title by defeating Russian powerhouse Spartak Moscow. That was their first title. Lokomotiv would win the Russian title again in 2004. They would finish second in the league in 1959, 1995, 1999, 2000 and 2001. Lokomotiv have won the Russian Cup five times, the latest triumph coming in 2007.

FC Lokomotiv Moscow play their home matches at the RZD Arena that has a capacity of 28,800. They bear the nicknames Loko, the Steam Locomotive, the Red-Greens and the Railroaders.


  • Soviet Top League/Russian Premier League Champions (3): 2002, 2004, 2017–18
  • Soviet First League/Russian National Football League Champions (3): 1947, 1964, 1974
  • Soviet Cup/Russian Cup Winners (10): 1936, 1957, 1996, 1996–97, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2006–07, 2014–15, 2016–17, 2018–19