Cercle Brugge K.S.V.

Sport Soccer
Country Belgium Belgium
Home town Bruges
Founding year 1899
Leagues Jupiler League

Cercle Brugge KSV is a Belgian football club based in the city of Bruges. They currently feature in the Belgian first division and finished fourth in the table in the 2007-2008 season.

Cercle Brugge were established on April 9,1899 as Cercle Sportif Brugeois by former students of the St. Francis Xavier Institute.

Cercle Brugge became a part of the Royal Belgian Football Association in 1900 and won the 1902 Henri Fraeys Cup. They won the Belgian national league in the 1910-1911 season.

The World War I virtually the team and they started the rebuilding process from 1919. They were rechristened as Royal Cercle Sportif Brugeois and two national titles between 1924 and 1930.

Then they went through a period of decline and resurfaced in the 1950s. They gained promotion to the first division in 1961 after 15 years but got relegated after 5 years.In the 1965-1966 season Cercle were accused of bribery and were relegated to the third division. But in 1971 after an ambitious plan Cercle were back in the Belgian top flight.

Cercle settled well in the first division but in 1997 were again relegated but returned to the top flight with reinforced determination in 2003.

Cercle Brugge play their home matches at the Jan Breydel Stadium which they share with their city rivals Club Brugge. The stadium can entertain a crowd of 9,945.

Some of the club’s major achievements include:-3 Belgian first division titles-2 Belgian Cups

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Subhankar Mondal
  • Share this page:

Team Roster

Name Position
Gianni Bruno forward
Naomichi Ueda defender
Kouadio Yves Dabila defender
Adrien Bongiovanni midfielder
Lloyd Palun midfielder
Idriss Saadi forward
Carlens Arcus defender
Guillaume Hubert goalkeeper
Giulian Biancone defender
Jérémy Taravel defender

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post