AFC Fiorentina is an Italian football club based in the city of Florence. They currently feature in the Italian Serie A where they have spent most of their history and have won the league title twice.

Only four clubs in Italy have enjoyed more time in the Italian first division than Fiorentina. The club has been a strong force in Italian football.


Fiorentina won their first scudetto in the 1955-1956 season and next year became the first Italian team to play an European Cup final but lost the match to Real Madrid 2-0. The club won the Coppa Italia again in the 1960-1961 season and won the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.

Fiorentina continued gathering trophies in the 1960s and won their second and till now their last scudetto in the 1968-1969 season.

In 1980 richman Flavio Pontello bought the club and seeped in top draw players to Florence. But after some time of high, Fiorentina got relegated to points of low.

Then filmmaker Mario Cecchi Gori tookover and Fiorentina again were on the way up. Player such as Brain Laudrup, Stefan Effenberg and Gabriel Batistuta all came but the Viola failed to garner the ever elusive third Serie A title although they were successful in the Cup competitions in Italy.

Country Italy Italy
City Firenze
Founded 1926
Ground Stadio Artemio Franchi
Nickname La Viola
Captain Cristiano Biraghi
Coach Vincenzo Italiano

Associazione Calcio Fiorentina was founded in the autumn of 1926 by the local National Fascist Party member Luig Ridolfi. The club played Serie A football for the time ever in its history in 131 and in 1941 won their first Coppa Italia.

But Fiorentina were relegated from the Italian Serie A at the end of the 2001-2002 season and went into administration control in June 2002. This practically meant that the club was defunct but in August 2002 Diego Della Valle became the club’s new owner and established the club as Fiorentina Viola and returned to the Serie A after rescaling the Italian football rungs for the 2004-2005 season.

Fiorentina instantly gained success in top flight Italian football but in 2006 were involved in the Calciopoli scandal and were punished with a hefty points penalty. They however bounced back and qualified for the 2008-2009 UEFA Champions League by finishing fourth in the Italian Serie A in the 2007-2008 season.


Fiorentina play their home matches at the Stadio Artemio Franchi, which can hold a crowd of 47,282. They have been playing at the stadium since 1931.


Fiorentina bar the nicknames the Viola(purple) and the Gigliati(Lilies).


  • Serie A Winners (2): 1955–56, 1968–69
  • Serie B Winners (3): 1930–31, 1938–39, 1993–94
  • Serie C2 Winners: 2002–03
  • Coppa Italia Winners (6): 1939–40, 1960–61, 1965–66, 1974–75, 1995–96, 2000–01
  • Supercoppa Italiana Winners (1): 1996
  • European Cup/UEFA Champions League Runners-up (1): 1957
  • UEFA Cup Runners-up (1): 1990
  • UEFA Cup Winners Cup (1): 1960-61