Torino Football Club is commonly referred to as Toro or Torino. It is an Italian football club that is based out of Turin. The club currently compete in the top tier of Italian football.

The football club was founded in 1906 and is among the most successful teams in Italy with seven league titles to their credit. Along with Juventus and Inter Milan, Torino are the third side which hold the record for winning five back-to-back Italian Serie A titles.

Country Italy Italy
City Torino
Founded 1906
Ground Stadio Olimpico Grande Torino
Nickname Il Toro
Coach Moreno Longo

The side were especially dominant in the 1940s. It was the era of the Grande Torino who were recognized as one of the world’s most formidable teams at the time. Sadly, the entire playing staff and most coaching staff were killed in the Superga air disaster in 1949. Their last trophy arrived in 1992-93 when they won the Coppa Italia for the fifth time in their history.

The club’s logo carries the rampant bull which is a symbol of the city of Turin. They play their home matches at the Stadio Olimpico Grande Torino and wear their maroon kit for home games.

Torino were one of the teams which featured in the longest footballing match to have ever been played. Following the First World War, the side had finished third in the Piedmont group in 1920-21 before going on to play Legnano in the semi-final round.

The match had finished 1-1 after the 90 minutes. Two extra halves of 30 minutes each followed as extra-time but there was nothing to separate the two sides. A third period of extra time was added on by the referee but the teams decided to discontinue the tie eight minutes into the third period of extra time.

The team won their first Serie A title in July 1927 but the title was revoked after it emerged that one of their medical staff had been involved in the bribing scandal. However, the team responded the following year to claim the Scudetto. They created history along the way, defeating teams by huge scorelines before sealing the title in a game against AC Milan.

It was not until the Grande Torino era that the side won their next title. The team were unbeaten in their run of five consecutive league titles. They were also the first side to win the Italian league and Cup in the same season. At the time, 10 of the 11 first team members in the Italian national team were from Torino.

Their success was ended in cruel fashion when the aeroplane carrying the team crashed against the Basilica of Superga because of dense fog and a faulty altimeter. In the aftermath of the disaster, the side started to decline.

They were relegated to Serie B in 1959 but won back promotion to the top tier in their very first attempt. Following a period of rebuilding, the side would go on to win the league for the seventh time in the 1975-76 season.

The club ran into financial trouble relating to debt and bankruptcy following the turn of the millennium in 2005. As such, they had to start all over from Serie B. Even then, they qualified for the top division in their first attempt. However, Torino were relegated once again at the end of the 2008-09 season. They remained in the second tier for three consecutive years.

Torino regained their position in Serie A on May 20, 2012 under the guidance of Gian Piero Ventura. They succeeded in remaining in Serie A the following year as well and surprised everyone by finishing seventh in 2013-14. Alessio Cerci and Ciro Immobile impressed in attack for Torino that season as Immobile claimed the Serie A golden boot with 22 strikes. The team are currently coached by Sinisa Mihajlovic.

Match Schedule