Cesc Fabregas

Team AS Monaco FC AS Monaco FC
Position Midfielder
Height / weight 1.79 m / 77 kg
Born May 4, 1987
Nationality Spain Spain
Number 44
Team History
AS Monaco FC Monaco 2019 - present
Chelsea FC Chelsea 2014 - 2019
FC Barcelona FC Barcelona 2011 - 2014

Cesc Fabregas is a Spain international football player who currently plays for the Spanish and European giants Barcelona. He plays as a midfielder and has won the European Championship and the World Cup with Spain.

Fabregas developed at the youth academy of Catalan giants Barcelona but left them for Arsenal in 2003 when he was just 16. The youngster quickly impressed for the London side and by the 2005-06 campaign had established himself as a regular first-team player.

Fabregas’s box-to-box approach, attacking abilities, shooting power, tenacity to pick out his team-mates with passes and capability to tackle all quickly made him one of the best midfielders in the world. He won the FA Cup with Arsenal in 2004-05 and also won the silver medal in the 2006 Champions League and in the Football League Cup in 2007 and 2011.

Fabregas had always continuously mooted for a return to his old club Barcelona and he himself made no attempt to eclipse his desire to play for the Spanish powerhouse. In the summer of 2010 Arsenal turned down a mega-bid from Barca for Fabregas, but joined the Blaugrana in a €29 million deal the following summer.

Fabregas has yet to fully make his stamp himself on Camp Nou but he has gradually settled back into life in Barcelona, and is now considered a long-term replacement for the ageing Xavi. He helped the Blaugrana win La Liga in the 2012-13 season, starting more matches than any other outfield player in the whole of the Barca team.

Fabregas made his international debut for Spain against the Ivory Coast in a friendly in 2006 but because of the sheer talent in the Spanish national team, he has failed to garner a regular spot in the line-up. However, the Arsenal midfielder has made more than 80 appearances for his nation, winning Euro 2008, the 2010 World Cup and Euro 2012.

What's Your Take?

Reply to