The Super League Greece is the highest professional league in Greece. It is considered as one of the stronger domestic leagues in European football.

The Super League Greece was commenced in 2006. It was founded on July 16,2006 and replaced the Alpha Ethniki as the top division in Greece. Alpha Ethniki had been the top football division in Greece since 1959 when it had substituted the Panhellenic Championship as the country’s top league.

Sport Soccer
Country Greece Greece
Founded 2006
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 3

The Super League Greece is currently comprised of 16 clubs. Each club plays the others twice every season, once at home and once away from home. The team that gathers the maximum number of points gets to win the league while the bottom three clubs are relegated to the Beta Ethniki.

The champions of the Super League Greece enter the third qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League while the second to fifth placed teams go to a playoff for the second Greek spot in the second qualifying round of the Champions League. The runners-up of the playoff then play in the UEFA Cup.

Domestic Grecian football has been traditionally dominated by Olympiakos, Panathinakos and AEK Athens. Olympiakos, who are also the current champions, have won the title an incredible 36 times.