Football League One, commonly known as League One or Coca-Cola Football League 1, is the second highest division of the Football League and the third highest overall in the English football league system. They are below the Premier League and the Football League Championship.

League One comprises of 24 teams and was introduced from the 2004-2005 campaign. Earlier it was known as the Football League Second Division. In this division, each club plays each of the other clubs twice (once at home, once away) and are awarded the customary three points for a win, one for a draw and zero for a loss.

Sport Soccer
Country England England
Founded 2004
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 3

At the end of each season the top two teams as well as the winner of the play-offs among the teams which finished in 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th positions, are promoted to Football League One. Likewise the four teams that finished at the bottom of Football League Two are relegated to the Football League Two and are replaced by the clubs that finished first in the top three of the Football League Two and the team that won the play-offs among 4th-7th place teams in that division.