The Ekstraklasa is the top division of the Polish football premier league.

Formed as the Liga Pilki Noznej on March 1,1927 in Warsaw, the Ekstraklasa has developed to be quite a decent domestic league in Europe. The first matches of the LPN were held on April 3,1927.

Sport Soccer
Country Poland Poland
Founded 1927
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 3

The Ekstraklasa currently comprises of 16 teams although there were times when 18 and even 10 teams used to play in the Polish first division.

The most successful club in the history of the Ekstraklasa are Gornik Zabrze who have won the league 14 times. The current Polish champions are Wisla Krakow.

The Ekstraklasa have been plagued by corruption scandals on a number of occasions, although it has been the clubs who have been guilty.