Belarusian Premier League

Sport: Soccer
Country: Belarus Belarus
Founding year: 1992
Teams: 12
Teams promoted / relegated: 2

The Belarusian Premier League, known as the Vysshaya Liga (top league), is the top division of the Belarusian professional football league. It is comprised of 16 clubs and the winner of the competition is the team that garners the maximum points in a league season.

The Belarusian Premier League is a relatively new league and was organized in 1992. FC Dinamo Minsk dominated the league initially and won the league five times in a row. Since then though a number of other clubs, including FC BATE and FC Shakhtyor have come to the fore.

At the end of the season, the bottom two teams in the Belarusian Premier League get relegated to the Belarusian First League, which is essentially the second division, while two teams are promoted from the First League into the Premier League.

FC BATE are the reigning champions and have won the championship five times so far. FC Dinamo Minsk though have the record of most number of title triumphs; they have been the champions of Belarus for no fewer than seven times.

  • Improve this page!
  • Share this page:

Related Articles

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post