The Saudi Professional League is the top men’s football competition in Saudi Arabia. The league was funded in 1976.

The league has expanded in recent years, with 18 teams due to compete in the Pro League in the 2023-24 season.

Sport Soccer
Country Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia
Founded 1976
Teams 18
Teams promoted / relegated 3

The top team is declared champions, with the top two qualifying for the AFC Champions League. The bottom three clubs are relegated.

Al Hilal are the most successful club, having won the Saudi league title 18 times, while Al Ittihad were champions in 2022-23, their ninth title.

The Saudi Pro League has grown in relevance following significant financial investment leading to Cristiano Ronaldo’s move to Al Nassr in January 2023. Several high profile players followed Ronaldo to Saudi Arabia in the corresponding six months, including Roberto Firmino, Allan Saint-Maximin, Riyad Mahrez, Edouard Mendy, Jordan Henderson, Ruben Neves, Kalidou Koulibaly, N’Golo Kante and Karim Benzema.