Major League Soccer (MLS) is the top-flight professional football(soccer) league in the United States of America and Canada. MLS is considered as a rapidly improving football league and is said to be a huge market for football.

The MLS was founded in 1993 to boost the USA bid for the hosting of the 1994 World Cup finals. The first season though took place in 1996 with only 10 sides.

Sport Soccer
Country United States United States
Founded 1993
Teams 29
Teams promoted / relegated 0

Since then the MLS has gradually developed and is now said to be a vastly improve league and a very lucrative market for sponsors.

The league season runs from March to October and is played by 29 teams, with 26 from USA and three from Canada. These teams are divided into Eastern and Western Conferences.

Each team plays 34 games over 34 weeks, once at home and once away from home from March to October, before the MLS Cup playoffs.

The regular season champion wins the Supporters’ Shield, while the playoffs champion wins the MLS Cup.