La Liga

Sport Soccer
Country Spain Spain
Founded 1929
Teams 20
Teams promoted / relegated 3

Commonly known as La Liga, the Primera Division of the Liga de Futbol Profesional, is the topmost professional football league in Spain. Contested by 20 teams, it’s considered by many as the best and most competitive as well as the most entertaining domestic football league in the world.


The idea of a national football league in Spain was proposed by Jose Maria Acha, a director at Arenas Club de Getxo, in April 1927. The first season was played in 1928-1929 which was won by Catalan giants FC Barcelona. La Liga has since grown in stature and popularity and is now one of the most watched domestic football league in the world.


La Liga is comprised of 30 teams and follows the customary double round-robin format. The season usually lasts from September to June of the following year. Each club plays every other club twice, once at home and once away from home.

The team that gains the most points during the course of a season is considered the winner. If two teams are tied on points for the league title, then their head-to-head record is considered. The bottom three teams at the end of the season are relegated to the Spanish Segunda Division while three top teams from the second division are promoted to the first division.

The top four teams in La Liga qualify for the UEFA Champions League. The fifth and the sixth placed teams qualify for the first round of the Europa League.

Most Titles

Real Madrid 34 - FC Barcelona 26 - Atletico Madrid 10 - Athletic Bilbao 8