Gambrinus liga is the top division football league of the Czech Republic. Officially known as the 1. Gambrinus Liga, the division is quite a respectable one in European circuit.

  1. Liga is comprised of 16 clubs and was founded in 1993 after the dissolution of Czechoslovakia. It has since progressed to become an important league.

In this division, each club plays the others twice every season, once at home and once away from home. The season lasts from August to May. Three points are awarded for a victory, one for a draw and no point for a defeat.

Sport Soccer
Country Czech Republic Czech Republic
Founded 1993
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 2

At the end of the season, the team with the maximum point is awarded the championship. The bottom two clubs are relegated to the Czech 2. Liga. The top two teams enter the UEFA Champions League while the third placed side move into the UEFA Cup.

Sparta Prague are the most successful club in 1. Liga history. The reigning champions though as Slavia Prague.