Prva HNL

Sport: Soccer
Country: Croatia Croatia
Founding year: 1991
Teams: 16
Teams promoted / relegated: 2

Prva HNL is the top division in Croatian club football. Known as the T-Com Croatian First Football League, it was founded in 1991 and has developed to be a strong league in Europe.

The Prva HNL was formed after the dissolution of the Yugoslav First League and is administered by the Croatian Football Federation. The first season commenced in February 1992.

The Prva HNL currently comprises of 12 teams. The season starts in late July or early August and stretches until May. Each club plays the others thrice every season. Upon the end of the first part of the season, consisting of 22 matchdays, a draw is held to pair the teams and decide host teams for the last 11 matchdays of the season. This system brought one additional matchday in comparison to the preceding seasons.

At the end of the season, the bottom side is relegated to the Druga HNL while the second last team enters a relegation playoff with the second placed team from Druga HNL over two legs. The champions qualify for the first qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League while the runners-up move into the qualifiers for the UEFA Cup.

The most successful club in Croatian football history is Dinamo Zagreb. They have won the title 10 times and are also the reigning Croatian champions.

  • Improve this page!
  • Share this page:

Related Articles

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post