The Segunda Division is the second highest league of the Spanish football system. It is the second tier of the two professional leagues in Spain and is officially known as the Liga Adelante.

The Segunda Division in Spain was founded in 1929 and has been taken care of by the LFP. It currently consists of 22 sides, among whom Real Zaragoza, Celta Vigo, Real Sociedad, Levamte and Albacete are the well known ones.

Sport Soccer
Country Spain Spain
Founded 1929
Teams 8
Teams promoted / relegated 3

Each club plays the others twice every season, once at home and once away from home. The top three clubs of the Segunda Division are promoted to the Primera Division while the bottom four teams are relegated to Segunda Division B.

The Segunda Division is quite a competitive league and regional pride and prestige form the crux of the rivalry in this division.