The Primera Division Uruguaya is the top division of football in Uruguay. It is one of the more elite domestic league in South America.

The Uruguayan league turned professional only in 1932; before that it was in an amateur state between 1900 and 1931. After 1994 the format was altered. It was divided into two stages, the Torneo Apertura and the Torneo Clausura. The final champions were decided after a two-legged final played between the champions of the two competitions.

Sport Soccer
Country Uruguay Uruguay
Founded 1932
Teams 0
Teams promoted / relegated 0

The Primera Division is comprised of 16 teams. Nacional and Penarol are the two most successful clubs in Uruguayan football history. The most recent champions though are Defensor Sporting.