The Eredivisie (English: Honorary Division) is the top division in the domestic league in the Netherlands. It is rated as one of the best leagues in Europe.


The Eredivisie was established in 1956 and went onto establish itself as a top domestic football league in Europe.

Sport Soccer
Country Netherlands Netherlands
Founded 1956
Teams 18
Teams promoted / relegated 3

The most successful club in Dutch football is AFC Ajax who have won the title 34 times. PSV Eindhoven have won it 24 times while Feyenoord have won the championship 15 times. No champions were declared in 2019-20 following the COVID-19 outbreak.


It consists of 18 clubs and each club has to face the others twice every season, once at home and once away from home. At the end of each season, the bottom club is relegated to the Eerste Divisie (First Divisie). The two other bottom clubs from the Eredivisie then go to separate promotion/relegation playoffs which are played in two groups. Each group has one Eredivisie club and three high-placed clubs from the Eerste Divisie.

In both promotion/relegation playoff groups, each club plays a home-and-away series with the other clubs. The winner of each playoff group plays in the following season’s Eredivisie, with the other teams going to the Eerste Divisie.

Most Titles

Ajax Amsterdam 35 - PSV Eindhoven 24 - Feyenoord 15 - HVV Den Haag 10