The Super Lig is the top flight football league in Turkey. Officially known as the Turkcell Super Lig, it is one of the more respected domestic leagues in European football and is managed by the Turkish Football Federation.

The Super Lig was established in 1959 and gradually developed to be a very competitive league. It currently comprises of 18 clubs. Each team plays the others twice every season, once at home and once away from home. The bottom three clubs are automatically relegated to the TFF First Division and are replaced by the top three clubs of that division.

Sport Soccer
Country Turkey Turkey
Founded 1959
Teams 4
Teams promoted / relegated 3

The top two teams qualify for the UEFA Champions League. The champions enter the third qualifying round while the second placed side enters the second qualifying round. The third placed side enters the UEFA Cup.

Turkish football have been dominated by Galatasaray, Fenerbahce and Besiktas. The former two have won 17 league titles each while Besiktas have won the championship 10 times.