Allsvenskan, which translates as “The All Swedish”, is the highest level of domestic league football in Sweden. 16 teams compete in this league which is one of the most competitive in European football.

Allsvenskan saw the light of the day in 1924 after Svenska Serien, which was then the top league in Europe. Previously in the Allsvenskan 14 clubs used to participate but from 2008 onwards there are 16. The season starts in March and ends in October and each club has to play the otehrs twice, once at home and on the other occasion away from home. The winners of Allsvenskan are considered Swedish Champions.

Sport Soccer
Country Sweden Sweden
Founded 1924
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 3

The bottom two sides in Allsvenskan are relegated to the second division while the top two sides from the second division are automatically promoted at the end of a season. The third lowest team in Allsvenskan plays a relegation/promotion play-off against the third placed team in Superettan, which is essentially the Swedish second division.

The winners of Allsvenskan move into the first qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League while the runners-up qualify for first round of the UEFA Cup. The third placed team enters the UEFA Intertoto Cup.