The Scottish Premier League is the top flight domestic football league in Scotland. it is officially known as the Clydesdale Bank Premier League and is also called (informally) as the SPL.

The Scottish Premier League was founded in 1998. Prior to that, the Scottish Football League followed a two divisional structure (Division 1 and Division 2) which they shunned in the mid-1970s for a three divisional structure. Then in the 1994-1995 season a four divisional structure was adopted.

Sport Soccer
Country Scotland Scotland
Founded 1998
Teams 12
Teams promoted / relegated 1

In 1998 the football clubs in the Premier Division decided to split from the Scottish Football League and form the Scottish Premier League. Initially the SPL was comprised of 10 clubs but for the 2000-2001 season, it was enlarged to 12 clubs.

During the course of a season, each clubs plays the others at least three times, either once at home and twice away from home or vice-versa. After the first phase of matches, the league splits into two halves: a top six and a bottom six.

Each club then plays a five more matches against the teams in their half. At the end of the season, the bottom club in the SPL gets relegated.

The champions of the Scottish Premier League enter the group stage of the UEFA Champions League directly while the runners-up enter the third qualifying round.

Traditionally the Old Firm sides- Celtic and Rangers- have dominated the Scottish Premier League. The reigning champions are Celtic.