The Campeonato Brasileiro Serie A is the highest division of Brazilian football. It is a very well reputed domestic football league in South America.

The Campeonato Brasileiro started only in 1971 as it was quite difficult until then to manage a nationwide league as Brazil is a vast country with numerous football clubs. But even during the Campeonato era, there was chaos. Moreover, the state championships and league have retained their importance even now.

Sport Soccer
Country Brazil Brazil
Founded 1959
Teams 20
Teams promoted / relegated 4

Since 2003, the Campeonato Brasileiro has been played in a double round-robin format. At the end of the season, the team with the maximum points is declared the winner. Since 2006, 20 teams have contested the Serie A during the course of a season. Moreover, a rule was imposed from that season which disables a team to field more than 3 foreign players in a single match.

Flamengo are the reigning champions of the Serie A.