The 2nd Bundesliga is the Second Division of professional football in Germany. It is the second tier football level in the German football league system comprising of 18 teams.


The German second division was started in 1974 in which 40 clubs, divided into two leagues, North and South, battled against one another for promotion to the German Bundesliga. The second division subsequently underwent several changes and then from the 1994-1995 season 18 clubs have featured in this division.

Sport Soccer
Country Germany Germany
Founded 1974
Teams 14
Teams promoted / relegated 3


The top two teams in the German second division get promoted to the German top flight. The third place team then go into a play-off with the 16th place team in the Bundesliga.

The bottom two teams get relegated to the 3rd Liga automatically. The third last team move into a play-off against the third place 3rd Liga side.

According to the league rules, only 5 none-EU players are permitted in each team on matchdays.

Most Titles

Arminia Bielefeld 4 - FC Nurnberg 4 - SC Freiburg 4 - FC Koln 4