The Danish Superliga is the topmost domestic league in Denmark and is administered by the Danish Football Association. It comprises of 12 teams and is officially known as the SAS Ligaen.

The Danish Superliga was established in 1991 after the Danish first division was done away with. At the time only 10 teams participated. From the summer of 1991 the competition structure would be expanded for over two years.

Sport Soccer
Country Denmark Denmark
Founded 1991
Teams 12
Teams promoted / relegated 2

There were a few other changes in the structure and then before the 1995-1996 season, the number of competing teams in the Danish Superliga was increased to 12. They play each other thrice for 33 games per Superliga season.

Each team meets each one of the other teams once at home, once away and one more time home or away depending on the clubs’ placement in the previous season.

The team with the maximum points is adjudged the winner of the Danish Superliga and enter the second qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League. The runner-up play in the UEFA Cup but start at the second qualifying round while the third placed club features in the UEFA Intertoto Cup, again from the second round.

The two bottom clubs in the Danish Superliga are relegated to the Danish first division.

The Danish Superliga has been traditionally dominated by FC Copenhagen or Brondby IF.