Portuguese Liga

Sport Soccer
Country Portugal Portugal
Founded 1934
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 2
Website lpfp.pt

The Portuguese Liga, officially termed as Liga Sagres, is the top division of Portugal and is placed at the pinnacle of the Portuguese football league system.

Portuguese football was reformed in 1938 but even before that a sort of league football competition was already being held. After the reform. a round-basis football competition was commenced.

From 1938 to 2000 this competition was termed as the Campeonato Nacional da Primeira Divisao (National Championship of the First Division). It was then rechristened as Campeonato Nacional da Primeira Loga or simply the Primeira Liga (Premier League).

The Portuguese Liga is comprised of 16 clubs. In a season, each club plays the others twice, once at home and once away from home. At the end of the season, the team that garners the maximum points becomes the champions. The bottom two teams are automatically relegted to the Liga de Honra while the top two teams of the Liga de Honra are promoted to the Portuguese Liga.

The top two teams qualify for the UEFA Champions League. The champions enter the UEFA Champions League directly while the runners-up enter the third qualifying round. The third, fourth and fifth placed teams enter the UEFA Cup.

Historically Portuguese football has been dominated by Benfica, FC Porto and Sporting Portugal. The reigning champions of the Portuguese Liga are FC Porto.

  • Improve this page!