Ligue 1

Sport Soccer
Country France France
Founded 1932
Teams 20
Teams promoted / relegated 3

Ligue 1 is the top division of French and Monegasque football and is an all-professional league and has been so since 1932 (except for the 1943-1944 season).


Twenty clubs make up the French Ligue 1. These clubs play each other on home-and-away basis. The winner of the league is the team that garners the maximum points in the league. The bottom two teams are automatically relegated to the Ligue 2 while the 18th place team move into a play-off with the winner of the second division play-offs.

Ligue 1 is considered as one of the strongest domestic leagues in Europe although in the last few years the monopoly on the title of big-spending Paris Saint Germain have been stark.

Most Titles

Saint-Etienne 10 - Olympique Marseille 9 - Paris Saint Germain 9 - Monaco 8 - Nantes 8