Premier Soccer League is the top division in the South African domestic league. They are also known as the National Soccer League and are comprised of 16 clubs.

The Premier Soccer League was established in 1996 by Kaizer Motaung, Irvin Khoza, Raymond Hack and Jomo Sono. Manning Rangers became the first club to win the Premier Soccer League in 1997.

Sport Soccer
Country South Africa South Africa
Founded 1996
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 2

Initially the Premier Soccer League used to be comprised of 18 teams but at the end of the 2001-2002 season it was reduced to 16 teams. This led to the disbandment of Ria Stars and Free State Stars.

During the course of a season played between August and May of the following year and each team plays the other twice, once at home and once away from home. The team that garners the maximum number of points at the end of the season wins the league.

The team that finishes bottom of the league automatically gets relegated while the 15th placed side goes into a playoff with the loser of the promotion playoff between the winner of the Coastal Stream and the Inland Stream and the two teams that ended the season in second spot in the two streams.