The Hungarian National Championship I, also known as the NBI and Soproni Liga, is the highest division in Hungarian football. It is comprised of 16 teams.

The Hungarian National Championship I was founded in 1901. Each team plays the others twice over the course of a season. The team the garners the maximum number of points at the end of the season wins the league while the bottom two clubs are relegated to the second tier of Hungarian football and are replaced by the winner of the NB2-Nyugati csoport (West) and NB2-Keleti csoport (East).

Sport Soccer
Country Hungary Hungary
Founded 1901
Teams 16
Teams promoted / relegated 2

Ferencvaros are the most successful clubs in the Hungarian National Championship I as they have won the league 28 times while MTK Budapest are the second most successful with 23 league titles.