The Albanian Superliga is the top division in Albanian domestic football. It comprises of 12 teams.

The Albanian Superliga was founded in 1930 as Kategoria e Pare (First Division). Initially there were six teams.

Sport Soccer
Country Albania Albania
Founded 1930
Teams 12
Teams promoted / relegated 2

In the 1998-1999 season the league assumed the name “Kategoria superiore” and was expanded to 16 teams. In 1999-2000 the number was trimmed down to just 14.

Since the 2006-2007 season, though, the Albanian top flight has comprised of 12 teams.

In the current format of the Albanian Superliga, each team plays each of the other sides thrice for a total of 33 games and a draw determines which plays twice against an opponent. Three points are awarded for a win and one point are given for a draw.

At the end of the season the team that garners the maximum number of points is declared the winner of the Albanian Superliga while the teams that finish in the bottom two places are relegated to the First Division and are replaced by two clubs from that division.