The A Lyga is the top division of football league in Lithuania. Also known as The A League (in English), the A Lyga comprises of 8 teams.

The A Lyga was established in 1991 and is organized by NFKA (the National Football Club Association). The season usually satrts in late March or early April each year as the tough climate in Lithuania makes holding matches in winter impossible.

Sport Soccer
Country Lithuania Lithuania
Founded 1991
Teams 8
Teams promoted / relegated 1

The winner of the A Lyga is the team that finishes the season with the maximum number of points. The team that finishes bottom of the table at the end of a season is relegated from the Lithuanian top flight. FBK Kaunas are the most successful club in the A Lyga history with 10 league triumphs.