The Moldovan National Division is the top division of domestic football in Moldova. It is comprised of 12 clubs.

The Moldovan National Division was established in 1992 and FC Zimbru Chisinau were the first winners of the league championship. Zimbru went onto win the league for five successive seasons after which Constructorul Chisinau won the league championship in 1996-1997.

Sport Soccer
Country Moldova Moldova
Founded 1992
Teams 10
Teams promoted / relegated 1

Zimbru won the league again after that and successfully defended their title for the following two seasons. FC Sheriff Tiraspol then won the Moldovan National Division in the 2000-2001 season and have since won each and every edition of the league championship, making it nine successive Moldovan league title including the 2008-2009 title.

The Moldovan National Division is contested by 12 teams out of which the team that gains the maximum number of points in a season is declared the winner of the league for that season. The club that finishes at the bottom of the league table at the end of a season is relegated to the second division and the champions of the second division replace them for the following season.