Formula racing is one of car racing’s most common competitive modes. It is one-seater motorsport with open wheels. The cars used in formula courses are engineered and manufactured to meet specific requirements, and the practices are maintained on circuit tracks explicitly made for formula racing.

Formula racing is one of several types of road motor racing with one-seater wheels. The concept comes from the FIA terminology for all of its single-seater rules or formulas since World War II. Formula 1, Formula E, Formula Two, Formula Three, Geographical Formula Three, and Formula Four are the best known of these formulae. The widespread use of “Formula racing” includes other series with a single-seater, including the GP2 series replacing Formula 3000, which was a successful substitute for Formula Two itself.

The feeder formulae are defined as the categories such as the Formula Three and the FIA Formula II championships, which correspond to their place under Formula One at the single-seat motor race career ladder. It is possible to choose chassis or engines in two basic modes of formula racing: an open formulation and control or “spec” format, which rely on a single provider of chassis and engines. Formula three, while Formula BMW is a control formula, is an example of an open formula. These two types, including the Formula Ford, also have several exceptions. There is a single brand engine formulation but an available chassis formula.


Originally, Formula racing started with the 1920s and 1930s European Grand Prix. F1 was first formally recognized and standardized in 1946. The first official Formula racing World Championship was in Silverstone in 1950 and lasted until 1983 with non-championship events. The World Championship became famous and gradually became the trillion-dollar company of Bernie Ecclestone we all know. F2 was classified first in 1942 but was then disbanded in 2013 due to the interest standards. In 2015, FIA tried to reintroduce the F2 series, but it failed.

The FIA introduced F3 in 1950, but it was born in the old Formula Junior. The first F3 European championship was set up by the FIA in 1975 and lasted until 1984. The famous and competitive British F3 Championships created drivers, such as Jackie Stewart, Ayrton Senna, and Jenson Button. The F4 category’s roots are complicated. It now has several different types, but before 2013 FIA formally endorsed F4.