A1 Team Australia, the A1 GP entry from Australia, participated in 11 rounds in the first A1 Grand Prix season. Alan Jones, former F1 World Champion is the chairman of the team, and is supported by Peter Nolan, a former NASCAR driver. The team is owned by Alan Docking, a Formula One talent-spotter/principal engineer.

For the 2005-2006 season, the team’s driver for the opening round at Brands Hatch, was Will Power. Power managed a fourth place, in the Sprint Race, and came an impressive second in the Main Race. The first position was taken by Nelson Angelo Piquet, who dominated most of the event. During the weekend, Power accumulated 16 points, and due to previous commitments with Champ Cars Team Australia, did not return for the remaining season.

Country Australia Australia
City --
Founded 2005

Christian Jones, son of seat owner Jones, replaced Power, but could manage a feasible enough performance. The second round in Germany, did not produce any points for the team, and they ended it with a best finish position of 14.

Will Davison replaced Jones, for the third round in Portugal, who fared much better and despite qualifying in 18th place for the race, followed by a first-lap retirement, managed a sixth place and an additional five points from the Main Race.

Davison stayed on for the home round at Eastern Creek Raceway, and once again gave a repeat performance, procuring a sixth place finish in the Main Race. With a continually improving performance, Davison clinched a one-point tenth place in the UAE round, but had to retire from the Main Race in Durban.

But due to contract obligations, Davison was replaced with Marcus Marshall, and Davison switched to V8 Supercars. Marshall, proved be the most successful driver so far in the season, and scored the team’s first podium, with a third place finish in Indonesia. But like Davison, Marshall moved to V8 Supercars as well, and was replaced by Christian Jones, who once again failed to impress.

The last two rounds were given to Ryan Briscoe, who managed to turn the tides for the team, and repeated the performancedelivered by Marshall and Power with a podium finish, with a third place in the Main Race, in the final round, in China. A the end of the season, the Australian team finished with one second place and two third place finishes, with a total of 51 points, and an over-all 13th place in the first A1 GP championship.

In the 2006-2007 season, Australia had Karl Reindler and Ryan Briscoe as drivers, and on the 25th of June, 2007, announced their decision to use Ian Dyk as the driver for the 2007-2008 season.