Williams F1

Sport Racing
Country England England
Home town Grove, Oxfordshire
Founding year 1977
Series Formula 1

One of the most legendary F1 teams in the sport today, Williams F1 was founded by Sir Frank Williams, with Patrick Head as co-founder and after winning the Jacques Villeneuve’s Drivers World Championship race in 1997, have won more than 100 Grands Prix. Now ranked alongside other legends such as Ferrari and McLaren Mercedes, Williams F1 also boasts of five Constructors’ World Championship wins, making them the dominating force in the 90s.

Being the only independently owned team, Williams F1 team has seen some of the sports greatest drivers take the helm. Some of them include Alain Prost, Damon Hill, Nelson Piquet and Keke Rosberg, all whom have won the Drivers’ World championship with the team. Another legend, Ayrton Senna tragically died in his very first season with Williams F1, in the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix.

Kazuki Nakajima and Nico Rosberg are the current drivers for the team, which is based in Grove, Oxfordshire, UK. With Toyota engines, Williams has seen its fair share of engine manufacturers, right from Honda, Judd, Mecachrome, Ford and even Renault in the 80s. In 1998, during their deal with German automobile giant BMW, which lasted 6 years, Williams had to include at least one German driver as part of the team, according a clause in their deal. This led to Ralf Schumacher and Nick Hiedfeld to be a part of Williams at different points of time during the deal. During the early years of the partnership, Ralf Schumacher and Juan Pablo Montoya were Williams BMW team drivers, both nearly capturing the title. With Ferrari taking the honors in both cases, Williams’ association with Toyota is now starting an upward swing.

Till 1997, Williams held the record for most number of Constructor’s World championships, numbering to nine, but was overtaken by Ferrari in 2000. Most of their Constructor’s World championships were won by the popular duo Nelson Piquet and Nigel Mansell, who were part of the Magnificent Four as well, consisting of Alain Prost with McLaren and Ayrton Senna with Lotus, apart from the Williams’ duo. Prost and Senna were dominant in the Drivers’ World championships, even though Mansell and Piquet remained a strong force in the Constructor’s World championships.

Having entered the Formula One arena back in 1977, their first victory came in the 1980 season, when Australian ace Alan Jones won both the Drivers’ and the Constructors’ World championship titles. Since then the team has participated in over 508 races, and has bagged an impressive 113 race wins. Placing immense importance on team spirit, team owner Frank Williams’ consistent backing has produced amazing results. Even with giants such as Ferrari and McLaren, Williams holds its own, being the most recent entrant compared to them, and also in terms of performance. This season Williams will showcase two sons of Formula One drivers, Kazuki Nakajima and Nico Rosberg.

Member Activity


FB1 gave a rating of 8 to Williams F1 -

Latest Articles

Vettel Wins Third Consecutive F1 Crown

Vettel Wins Third Consecutive F1 Crown

Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has claimed his third Formula One title in dramatic circumstances after spinning into last place as Jenson Button won the season-ending Brazilian Grand Prix.The German driver was battling Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso heading into the final race of the 2012 season.Vettel led Alonso by 13 points heading into the final GP of t... Continue reading

Maldonado Wins 'Fiery' Spanish GP

Maldonado Wins 'Fiery' Spanish GP

Pastor Maldonado ended Williams’ eight-year wait for a Formula One victory after taking out the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona on Sunday.The Ven Continue reading

Tiny racing

The Bahrain Aftermath - Dramatics in F1

The Bahrain Grand Prix was one of the most lacklustre starts to a Formula One season expected to be one of the most exciting in many years. With so many world class drivers lining up on the starting grid, there was absolutely no question that the race would be tough. However, the race was only tough on the spectators with the drivers finding it dif... Continue reading

Tiny racing

A "Fun" Look at Formula 1 in 2010 - Teams Part One

The 2010 season in Formula One is scheduled to begin in just a couple of weeks. Teams are rushing through their final tests, some st Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    http://ambike.com.vn Italia Valentino Rossi

    almost 5 years ago

Team Roster

Name Position

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post