Daniel Joseph Ricciardo is a professional racing driver for McLaren who is currently competing under the Australian Flag in Formula One. He started his Formula One career in 2011 during the British Grand Prix and boasts of a total of 1,193 career points.

Ricciardo was like many racing drivers who started with karting. What made him stand out from the rest during his amateur career was that he started karting at age nine. At a young age, he was able to finish eighth in the Western Australian Formula Ford championship despite driving a 15-year-old car. By 2006, he took part in the Formula BMW Asian championship and took two victories during his debut season. In the same year, he also finished fifth during the Formula BMW World Final.

After competing in Formula Ford and Formula BMW, Ricciardo joined RP Motorsport and competed in Formula Renault. His time with Formula Renault was from 2007 to 2008 wherein he won second in the Eurocup and the champion in the Western European Cup.

Team McLaren Mercedes McLaren Mercedes
Born 1 Jul 1989
Nationality Australia Australia
Team History
McLaren Mercedes McLaren Mercedes 2021 - present
Renault F1 Renault F1 2019 - 2020
Red Bull Racing Red Bull Racing 2014 - 2018
Scuderia Toro Rosso Scuderia Toro Rosso 2012 - 2013

Right during the middle of 2008, Ricciardo competed in Formula Three. By 2009 he was already driving through the tracks under the Formula Renault 3.5 Series. By December 1, 2009, he made his debut in Formula One during the Circuito de Jerez. During this 3-day event debut, Ricciardo was recognized as the only driver to have clocked within the 1:17 bracket. Before driving for McLaren under Formula One, he also drove for Red Bull Racing, HRT, and Scuderia Toro Rosso as well as Renault and Infiniti Red Bull Racing.

While competing in Formula One, Ricciardo bagged third place during the 2014 series under Infiniti Red Bull Racing as well as in the 2016 series while driving for Red Bull Racing. In the 2020 series, he placed fifth while competing for Renault DP World F1 Team. It was only in 2021 when he started competing for McLaren F1 Team and is currently taking 9th place.

Career Highlights

  • 2015 Laureus Breakthrough of the Year
  • 2014 Lorenzo Bandini Trophy
  • 2009 British Formula 3 Champion
  • 2008 Formula Renault 2.0 WEC Champion

User Comments

Reply to