Pérez Wins His First Grand Prix

Sergio Perez has won his first Grand Prix and his 190th attempt.

The irony is that the Mexican, who has been one of the best of the erst all season, does not even have a drive for next year. The team is being rebranded under the Aston Martin name, and they have recruited Sebastian Vettel to drive for the, alongside Lance Stroll.

Stroll’s place in the team is guaranteed because his father, Lawrence, a Canadian billionaire, is part-owner of the team and major investor.

Perez had been on the podium nine times before but this was his first time on the top step.

He entered the sport in 2011 with Sauber, and then joined McLaren, before making the switch to his current team when they were still known as Force India.

The win though seemed highly unlikely after he found himself in last place after the first lap, after Charles Leclerc in the Ferrari crashed into him. However, he fought his way back-up the field and after a pit-stop error by the Mercedes team put both George Russell and Valtteri Bottas behind him, he inherited the lead.

Russell began to chase him down and may have threatened him before the end of the race. However, a rear left puncture forced him out of contention and Perez was able to celebrate his overdue victory.

He is the first Mexican to win a Grand Prix for 50 years the last man to achieve that feat came in 1970 when Pedro Rodriguez clinched victory in the Belgian Grand Prix.

Many commentators find it amazing that Sunday could have been his penultimate race in the sport, and Perez himself says that he is determined to continue.

However, the only seat that is potentially available to him is to drive alongside Max Verstappen at Red Bull. The current occupant of the seat Alex Albon continues to struggle to impress, and could only finish sixth on Sunday.

Red Bull insist they wan to give him every chance to prove himself, but with Prez available, must be tempted into making the change.

Suneer chowdhary
Sports Pundit staff writer @suneerchowdhary
ICC-accredited cricket journalist, covers Team India through their cricketing journey around the world

Comment on This Article

Reply to