CSKA Moscow

Sport Hockey
Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
Home town Moscow
Founding year 1911
Leagues Kontinental Hockey League,
Russian Premier League

CSKA Moscow is a professional ice hockey club based in Moscow, Russia. As of 2009, it is a member of the Tarasov Division in the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL). The team colors of CSKA Moscow are Red, White and Blue.

The team is often referred to as the “Red Army Team” due to its former affiliation with the Soviet Army, which was popularly known as the ‘Red Army’. The team is notable for having won the most European Cups and Soviet Championships (as of 200) than any other team in history.

Since its founding in 1946 up to 2008, the team has won 32 Russian (Soviet) Championships. They have won 20 European Cups, 1 Spengler Cup, and 1 Pajulahti Cup. CSKA Moscow stands out among other KHL teams as well as NHL teams, because not only did they win over 30 Soviet Championships, they won 13 of those wins in a row. As of the 2007-2008 season, no NHL Team has won more than 5 Stanley Cups in a row since 1926 when the league took possession of the Staley. CSKA Moscow was also very dominant in the European Cup, winning 13 in a row from 1978 to 1990.

The very first coach for CSKA Moscow was Anatoli Tarasov who would later move on to become a well known coach for the Soviet National Team. CSKA Moscow also prospered under the coaching of Viktor Tikhonov. He served as head coach for the team from 1977 – 1996. As of 2008, the head coach for the team is Vyacheslav Bykov.

The CSKA Universal Sports Hall serves as Home Ice for the team. The Sports Hall is said to seat up to 5,500 people. It is an indoor sporting arena that’s located in Moscow. It was formerly known as the CSKA Palace of Sports.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by support
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Hockey article sidebar

Russian Olympic Roster

With a lethally high-powered offense, veteran puck movers on the blueline and world class keepers in net, the Russians will be looking to win their first gold medal in the pro player era, and also their first Olympic championship since 1992.GoaliesEvgeni Nabokov: Probably the frontrunner for the starting job, Nabokov will have to be on top of his g... Continue reading

Hockey article sidebar

Anderson, Larionov are newest Hall of Famers

Igor Larionov and Glenn Anderson will receive a well-deserved honor this weekend, when the two will be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame, forever joining the ranks of the hockey world’s elite players. Both players have a history of success on some of the great teams in NHL history, and played alongside some of the greatest to ever play.>Lari... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Alexei Badyukov centre
Jan Marek centre
Dmitri Sayustov centre
Yan Stastny centre
Ilya Zubov centre
Aleksandr Berkutov defence
Petr Caslava defence
Evgeny Kurbatov defence
Grigori Misharin defence
Mikhail Pashnin defence
Karel Pilar defence
Yakov Rylov defence
Vyacheslav Kozlov left wing
Vyacheslav Kulemin left wing
Roman Lyubimov left wing
Tomas Netik left wing
Denis Parshin left wing
Sergey Andronov right wing
Evgeny Korotkov right wing
Egor Mikhailov right wing
Dmitri Monya right wing
Scott Parse right wing
Nikolai Pronin right wing

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post