Calgary Flames

Sport Hockey
Country Canada Canada
Home town Calgary, Alberta
Founding year 1972
Leagues National Hockey League

The Calgary Flames are an NHL franchise in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference.

The Flames began their existence as the Atlanta Flames in1972. The Flames were added to the league as part of the NHL’s attempt to combat the newly created WHA. Atlanta made the playoffs on a number of occasions, but never won the Stanley Cup. In 1980, the franchise was moved to a more hockey-friendly environment in Calgary. The Flames made the playoffs their first season in Calgary, and remained successful throughout the early 1980s. Calgary’s success earned them a solid rivalry with the Edmonton Oilers. The Oilers were one of the most successful franchises in the mid-‘80s, but the Flames were able to provide them with some serious competition.

Cliff Fletcher was hired as the team’s GM, and Fletcher built the Flames into a powerhouse during the late ‘80s and early ‘90s. With Al MacInnis, Mike Vernon and Doug Gilmour leading the way, the Flames won their first Stanley Cup in 1989, after being defeated by Montreal in the Cup Finals in 1986. After Fletcher’s departure to Toronto, the Flames missed the playoffs for the first time in nearly 20 years in 1992. Theo Fleury and Joe Nieuwendyk helped the Flames return to the top of their division in the mid-‘90s. While financial difficulties gave the Flames some problems towards the turn of the century, the drafting of Jarome Iginla gave Calgary a franchise player to build around.

In 2004, Iginla and goalie Miikka Kiprusoff led the Flames through the playoffs to the Stanley Cup Finals, where they lost to the Tampa Bay Lightning in seven games. Calgary has remained one of the top teams in the league since, making the playoffs in each season since he lockout, but losing in the first round every time.

Calgary plays out of the Pengrowth Saddledome, which holds 19,289 fans.

Stanley Cups won: 1988-89

Notable Players: Theoren Fleury, Doug Gilmour, Jarome Iginla, Miikka Kiprusoff, Gary Leeman, Al MacInnis, Sergei Makarov, Lanny McDonald, Joe Nieuwendyk Kent Nilsson, Joel Ott, Dion Phaneuf, Gary Roberts, Gary Suter, Alex Tanguay, Mike Vernon

Show more less

Match Results


Canucks won a game against Calgary Flames (3 - 2) in the National Hockey League -

Calgary Flames

Calgary Flames won a game against Edmonton Oilers (6 - 1) in the National Hockey League -

Calgary Flames

Calgary Flames won a game against Colorado Avalanche (2 - 1) in the National Hockey League -

Calgary Flames

Calgary Flames won a game against St. Louis Blues (3 - 2) in the National Hockey League -

Latest Articles

Hockey article sidebar

Deadline Preview: Northwest (CGY, COL, EDM, MIN)

Calgary Flames: 31-23-9, 71 pts, 9th in West, 3rd in NorthwestStatus: NeitherA team that was given up for dead early in the season roared to life in the second half of the year and the Flames now sit just one point out of the playoffs in the West. A team full of veterans both up front, on the blueline and in net doesn’t need much in the way of outs... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Cammie Heck yeah bay-bee keep them cminog!

    about 7 years ago
  2. Profile image 32x32

    Kalea Your article was eexcllent and erudite.

    over 8 years ago

Hockey article sidebar

Northwest Division Power Rankings: Week 2

Calgary Flames (5-3-0, 10 pts, 1st in Division): Winning three of their four games this week against some pretty stiff competition has the much-maligned Flames sitting atop the Northwest Division early on. A scrappy 1-0 overtime win over Nashville spoke volumes about this team’s determination, while a 4-0 shutout at home against San Jose has to hav... Continue reading

Hockey article sidebar

Northwest Division Power Rankings: Week 1

Northwest Division Power Rankings: Week 1Vancouver Canucks(2-2-1, 5 pts, 2nd in Division Standings): The Canucks are undefeated at home so far, but two losses to the team they put out of the playoffs last year, the Los Angeles Kings, won’t sit very well. Cory Schneider got his first win of the season last night against the Carolina Hurricanes, so h... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Jacoby I thank you humbly for sharing your wsidom JJWY

    about 7 years ago

Hockey article sidebar

30 in 15: Calgary Flames Season Preview

A team in transition that doesn’t really have the luxury of time, the Calgary Flames restocked themselves with veteran talent this offseason Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
John Armstrong centre
Mikael Backlund centre
Craig Conroy centre
Olli Jokinen centre
Daymond Langkow centre
Ryan Stone centre
Colin Stuart centre
Jay Bouwmeester defence
Mark Giordano defence
Aaron Johnson defence
Staffan Kronwall defence
John Negrin defence
Adam Pardy defence
Dion Phaneuf defence
Robyn Regehr defence
Cory Sarich defence
Steve Staios defence
Rhett Warrener defence
Ian White defence
Leland Irving goaltender
Henrik Karlsson goaltender
Matt Keetley goaltender
Vesa Toskala goaltender
Rene Bourque left wing
Nigel Dawes left wing
Curtis Glencross left wing
Niklas Hagman left wing
Raitis Ivanans left wing
Stefan Meyer left wing
Marcus Nilson left wing
Brett Sutter left wing
Alex Tanguay left wing
Jarome Iginla right wing
Tim Jackman right wing
Ales Kotalik right wing
Brian McGrattan right wing
David Moss right wing
Andre Roy right wing

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
The city of Calgary 1