New York Rangers

Sport Hockey
Country United States United States
Home town New York
Founding year 1926
Leagues National Hockey League

The New York Rangers are an NHL franchise in the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference.

The Rangers were founded in 1925, when the New York Americans joined the NHL as one of the original six NHL teams. In New York’s second season of existence as the Rangers, they won the Stanley Cup in 1928. The Rangers remained solid through the ‘30s, winning two more Cups in 1933 and 1940. After the last Cup win, New York struggled to remain competitive, but in the 1970s, led by Brad Park, Vic Hadfield and Jean Ratelle, they made the playoffs on a number of occasions, failing to win the Cup in the Finals on a number of occasions.

In the late ‘70s and early ‘80s, the Rangers suffered at the hands of the New York Islanders, who would win four straight Stanley Cups in their dominance of the decade. The Blueshirts developed into one of the premier teams in the league during the early ‘90s, but continued meet with failure in the playoffs. In 1993-94, the Rangers followed the goaltending of Mike Richter and the play of superstars like Adam Graves, Brian Leetch and Mark Messier to their first Stanley Cup in 54 years, beating the Vancouver Canucks in the Cup a thrilling seven game series.

For the rest of the ’90s, the Rangers made a number of poor personnel moves, buying older players who had been superstars in their primes, such as Eric Lindros, Theo Fleury, Pavel Bure, Bobby Holik, Wayne Gretzky and Jaromir Jagr. Up until the lockout in 2004, New York struggled to make it further than the first or second round of the playoffs, despite having the highest payroll in the league for a number of seasons.

In 2005, after the lockout, the stellar play of goalie Henrik Lundqvist and the emergence of players like Petr Prucha and Martin Straka, the Rangers put up solid numbers in the next couple of seasons. Led by Jaromir Jagr, the Rangers made the playoffs every year after the lockout. New York still failed to make it deep into the postseason, losing out to New Jersey, Buffalo and Pittsburgh in three separate years. In 2008, the Rangers opened their season in Europe against Tampa Bay, after a preseason Victoria Cup victory in Bern, Switzerland.

Stanley Cups won: 1927-28, 1932-33, 1939-40, 1993-94

Notable Players: Glenn Anderson, Frank Boucher, Pavel Bure, Marcel Dionne, Chris Drury, Phil Esposito, Bill Gadsby, Mike Gartner, Eddie Giacomin, Rod Gilbert, Scott Gomez, Adam Graves, Ron Greschner, Wayne Gretzky, Vic Hadfield, Anders Hedberg, Tim Horton, Jaromir Jagr, Alexei Kovalev, Pat La Fontaine, Brian Leetch, Eric Lindros, Henrik Lundqvist, Stephane Matteau, Mark Messier, Petr Nedved, Brad Park, Lester Patrick, Petr Prucha, Jean Ratelle, Mike Richter, Martin Straka, Walt Tkaczuk, John Vanbiesbrouck, Gump Worsley, Sergei Zubov

Show more less

Match Results


Capitals won a game against Rangers (3 - 1) in the National Hockey League -


Capitals won a game against Rangers (4 - 3) in the National Hockey League -


Rangers won a game against Capitals (5 - 2) in the National Hockey League -

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Valeria I'm watching a movie claled The Rocket on MSG. It's a 2005 film biography of Rocket Richard. In one scene, the Rangers have brought in a goon to take Richard out. Richard winds up beating the tar out og the goon played by none other than Sean Avery!

    over 6 years ago

Capitals won a game against Rangers (2 - 0) in the National Hockey League -

Latest Articles

Hockey article sidebar

Trade Deadline Preview: New York Rangers

New York Rangers: 33-27-4, 70 pts, 7th in East, 3rd in AtlanticStatus: Active Buyers/SellersThe Rangers are in an interesting quandary, given that they look like they’ll be in the mix come playoff time, but continue to face a number of questions surrounding their roster and its current makeup. The pickup of Bryan McCabe was certainly a solid move, ... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Aspen An itnellgient answer - no BS - which makes a pleasant change

    almost 7 years ago

Hockey article sidebar

Atlantic Division Power Rankings: Week 2

Pittsburgh Penguins (5-3-1, 11 pts, 1st in Division): A strong week helped the Penguins reclaim the top spot in the Atlantic from the upstart Islanders, as the Pens downed Ottawa 5-2 and bested the league-leading Predators 4-3 in overtime. A tough 1-0 overtime loss to the Blues must have been a familiar sight, as Jaroslav Halak, who knocked the Pen... Continue reading

Hockey article sidebar

Southeast Division Power Rankings: Week 2

Tampa Bay Lightning (5-2-1, 11 pts, 1st in Division): For the first time in quite awhile, the Capitals don’t reside in the top spot in the Southeast Division standings. Steven Stamkos is on an absolute tear to start the season, tied for the league lead in goals with 8 and leading the NHL with 15 points. The defense could use some work, as the Light... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    Dorixx -Thanks for pointing out games peayld in 1936 and 1954. Well let me give you a fucken history lesson asshole. Since 1972 there has been 11 hockey tournaments where every country sent their best players to play. Canada has won 7 of those tournies, USA 1, Sweden 1, Czech 1, and CCCP 1. All of the Olympic gold medals the CCCP won was a team of pros versus college students from Canada!! and most Canadian players are unable to play in the WC every year but we still won 24!!

    almost 8 years ago
  2. Profile image 32x32

    Javier bison? ha ha, No the USA likes Football, Baseball, Basketball in that order. Hockey is after Nascar, College football, College Basketball and Mens/Womens Tennis and GOLF.

    almost 8 years ago

Hockey article sidebar

Atlantic Division Power Rankings: Week 1

Atlantic Division Power Rankings: Week 1New York Islanders(2-1-2, 6 pts, 1st in Division Standings): When Mark Streit and Kyle Okposo went down with injuries before the 2010-11 season even had any momentum, it looked like an early funeral for the Isles. Instead, Josh Bailey, Blake Comeau and a resurgent 39 year-old Doug Weight have the Isles atop t... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Artem Anisimov centre
Brian Boyle centre
Erik Christensen centre
Brandon Dubinsky centre
P.A. Parenteau centre
Brandon Prust centre
Todd White centre
Jeremy Williams centre
Michael Del Zotto defence
Steve Eminger defence
Anders Eriksson defence
Matt Gilroy defence
Daniel Girardi defence
Dmitri Kalinin defence
Ryan McDonagh defence
Erik Reitz defence
Michal Roszival defence
Marc Staal defence
Martin Biron goaltender
Stephen Valiquette goaltender
Sean Avery left wing
Dane Byers left wing
Alexander Frolov left wing
Vaclav Prospal left wing
Ryan Callahan right wing
Marian Gaborik right wing

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
We rule 1
Go Rangers Go 1
Joel and Henrik 1