Allmana Idrottsklubben, AIK for short, is a successful Swedish athletic club. Their hockey team was formed in 1921. In AIK’s 89 year history, they have played 66 seasons in the Elitserien, Sweden’s top hockey league. In the 1930s, they were one of the most successful teams in the league. AIK won its first league title in 1934, and repeated in 1935. They would win five more titles over the next fifty years, with the most recent one coming in 1984.

The Black Army is AIK’s largest fan club, which received some bad publicity for its activity in the 1980s and ’90s, leading to the creation of a few other less violent clubs in the last decade.

Country Sweden Sweden
City Solna
Founded 1891

AIK plays their home games at Hovet, which has a capacity of 8300, although they play some of their games at the Ericsson Globe, which holds 14,119.

Notable Players: Leif Holmqvist, Bert-Ola Nolander, Peter Gardin, Dick Tarnstrom

Elitserien Titles: 1934, 1935, 1938, 1946, 1947, 1982, 1984