Dynamo Moscow Hockey Club is a professional ice hockey club based in Moscow, Russia. As of the 2008-2009 season, they are a member of the Chernyshev Division in the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL). Team colors for Dynamo Moscow are blue and white. Their team logo depicts a stylized letter ‘D’.

Founded in 1946, Dynamo Moscow is a based one of the most successful professional ice hockey teams in Russia. The Luzhniki Palace of Sports serves as the home ice for Dynamo Moscow. The sports arena has the capacity to seat 11,500, as of the 2002 renovations. The arena not only plays host of the Dynamo Moscow team, but is also the venue of several important international sports events.

Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
City Moscow
Founded 1946
Website www.dynamo.ru
Kontinental Hockey League

The team was a member of the Soviet League from 1946 to 1992. They later joined the International Hockey League then moved on to the Russian Hockey League and the Russian Superleague. When the KHL was founded in 2008, Dynamo Moscow was one of the 24 original teams to join.

In its early years, the team was sponsored by the KGB. Being one of Russia’s most successful teams Dynamo Moscow has had several achievements throughout its existence. They won the Russian/Soviet Championships a total of 9 times. They also won the USSR Cup once in 2006. The Spengler Cup twice, once in 1983 and again in 2008. Dynamo Moscow also won the Ahearne Cup twice, once in 1975 and another in 1976. They were also the victors of the IIHF European Championships on 2006.

The team has also been the home of several notable players including Boris Zaitsev, Valentin Kuzin, Vladimir Yuriznov, Vitaly Davydov, and Oleg Tolmachev to name a few. Coaching legend Arkady Chernyshev, who was the namesake for KHL’s Chernyshev division, coached Dynamo Moscow from 1946 to 1974.

Team Roster

Name Position
Egor Milovzorov Russian Federation
Alexander Yeremenko Russian Federation