The Montreal Canadiens are an NHL franchise in the Northeast Division of the Eastern Conference.

The Canadiens are one of the most storied franchises in the NHL, with 24 Stanley Cup titles. In 1923-24, they won their first Stanley Cup, as well as another in 1930. In the 1940s, Maurice Richard and Toe Blake led the Canadiens to two more Cup titles. In the 1950s, the Canadiens set a record with five straight Stanley Cups, led by Jean Beliveau, Doug Harvey, Henri Richard and goalie Jacques Plante.

Country Canada Canada
City Montreal
Founded 1909
National Hockey League

In 1976-77, the Canadiens lost only 8 games en route to winning one of four straight Stanley Cups. Guy Lafleur, Yvan Cournoyer, Ken Dryden and Larry Robinson led the Canadiens to ten Stanley Cups in 15 seasons during the 60s and 70s. In the late 1980s, goaltender Patrick Roy led the Canadiens to another Stanley Cup, as well as their final Cup championship in 1993. The Canadiens suffered through a period of relative mediocrity during the rest of the ‘90s, but ended up as the top seed in the Eastern Conference at the end of the 2007-08 season. Despite losing in the second round of the playoffs, the Canadiens are favored to remain at the top of the Northeast Division in 2008-09.

Montreal plays out of the Bell Centre which seats 21,273.

Stanley Cups won: 1915-16, 1923-24, 1929-30, 1930-31, 1943-44, 1945-46, 1952-53, 1955-56, 1956-57, 1957-58, 1958-59, 1959-1960, 1964-65, 1965-66, 1967-68, 1968-69, 1970-71, 1972-73, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1977-78, 1978-79, 1985-86, 1992-93.

Notable Players: Jean Beliveau, Toe Blake, Guy Carbonneau, Chris Chelios, Yvan Cournoyer, Vincent Damphousse, Ken Dryden, Bob Gainey, Bernie Geoffrion, Doug Jarvis, Alexei Kovalev, Saku Koivu, Elmer Lach, Guy Lafleur, Newsy Lalonde, Guy Lapointe, Jacques Lemaire, Joe Malone, Howie Morenz, Kirk Muller, Jacques Plante, Carey Price, Henri Richard, Maurice Richard, Larry Robinson, Patrick Roy, Serge Savard, Steve Shutt, Pierre Turgeon

The canadiens have retired 14 jerseys

Team Roster

Name Position
Alex Auld Canada goaltender
Marc-Andre Bergeron Canada defence
Dustin Boyd Canada centre
Patrice Brisebois Canada defence
Mike Cammalleri Canada centre
Mathieu Carle Canada defence
Mathieu Dandenault Canada defence
Mathieu Darche Canada left wing
Lars Eller Denmark centre
Olivier Fortier Canada left wing