Metallurg Novokuznetsk is a professional hockey club based in Novokuznetsk, Kemerovo Oblast, Russia. They are a member of the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL), the Bobrov division. Established in 1949, Metallurg Novokuznetsk has become one of the most successful professional hockey clubs in Europe. The team’s arena home is the Kuznetskie Metallurgi Sports Palace, which has a capacity to seat up to 8000 individuals. Team colors are black, white, and red. Boris Mikhailov is the head coach for Metallurg Novokuznetsk, he has been so since 2007. He replaced Sergey Nikolaev.

After its establishment in 1949, the Metallurg Novokuznetsk hockey club was a constant participant of hockey championships, including the KFK. By 1955, the team was given a Class B Zone 1 classification. This remained until the 1958-1959 season. By 1960, the group was successful during the Russian Championships and gained an ‘A’ classification. By the 1999-2000 season, Metallurg Novokuznetsk, had already joined the Russian Superleague and were active members and remained with the league even after it became the KHL. While with the Russian Superleague, they won the bronze medal in the 1999-2000 season.

Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
City Novokuznetsk Kemerovo
Founded 1949

Notable players for the club include Olev Korolenko, George Evtyuhin, and Vadin Tarasov. Korlenko is considered to be one of the best snipers in the history of hockey, he played for Metallurg Novokuznetsk during the 1960-1961 season. Evtyuhin was named as the best scorer in the Superleague in the 1999-2000 season. Tarasov has been named as the best goal keeper in Russia three times.