Metallurg Magnitogorsk

Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
City Magnitogorsk Chelyabinsk Oblast
Founded 1955
Website ttp
Kontinental Hockey League

Metallurg Magnitogorsk is a professional hockey club based in Magnitogorsk, Chelyabinsk Oblast in Russia. The team was founded in 1955 and is current a member of the Tarasov division in the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL). Magnitogorsk Arena serves as home ice for Metallurg Magnitogorsk. Team colors are Blue, Red and White. Team nicknames include ‘Magnitka’ and ‘Steelers’. The team’s name translates into English as ‘Magnet-Mountain City Steelers’.

From its founding in 1955 to 1981, the Metallurg Magnitogorsk played as a Soviet Class B team. In 1981, they were elevated to Soviet Class A and in 1990, the team joined the USSR Championships. From 1991 to 1992, the team joined participated in the CIS Championship League and from 1992 to 1996, they were a part of the International Hockey League. They joined the Russian Hockey League from 1996 to 199 and later the Russian Superleague from 1999 to 2008. When the Russian Superleague was converted into the Kontinental Hockey League, Metallurg Magnitogorsk them and is now a part of the Tarasov division.

Metallurg Magnitogorsk was champions of the Russian Super League several times. They won it first in 1999 and again in 2000 and 2007. They also won the Tempere Cup in 2005, 2006, and 2008. The team also landed in second place during the 1996, 1998, and 2004 Russian Super League Championships as well as for the 2009 Champions Hockey League games.

In October 2008, Metallurg Magnitogorsk, played against the New York Ranger’s of the NHL during the inaugural of the Victoria Cup. They lost to the opposing team after Ryan Callahan scored a breakaway goal with only 20 seconds remaining in the game. Ranger’s players Dim

Team Roster

Name Position
Juhamatti Aaltonen Finland right wing
Dennis Abdullin Russian Federation right wing
Vitaly Atyushov Russian Federation defence
Evgeni Biryukov Russian Federation defence
Anton Bukhanko Russian Federation defence
Stanislav Chistov Russian Federation left wing
Mikhail Churlyaev Russian Federation defence
Sergei Fedorov Russian Federation centre
Georgy Gelashvili Russian Federation goaltender
Alexei Kaigorodov Russian Federation centre

Bet Play-Money for Fun