The Czech Extralgia League, established in 1993, is the highest-level ice hockey league in the Czech Republic. The league originated from the Czechoslovakia First Ice Hockey League. The change followed the administrative break-up of Czechoslovakia. Currently, the league has 14 teams and its most recent (2008) champions is the HC Slavia Praha. The official TV partner or Czech Extralgia is Ceska_televize.

The name of the team is leased and is changed with every new general. From 1999 to 2000, the team was known as the Staropramen Extralgia. From 2001 to 2002, it was known as the Cesky Telecome Extralgia. Between 2003 and 2006 it was known as the Tipsport Extralgia and from 2006 to 2008 it was called as O2 Extralgia. The names of the other teams in the league are also leased to sponsors and are changed frequently.

Sport Hockey
Country Czech Republic Czech Republic
Founded 1993
Teams 4
Teams promoted / relegated 0

Of the 14 competing teams, the top 10 advance to the playoffs. The last 4 teams will play against each other in the pre-quarter final playoff series in order to determine which one will join the top 6 in the quarter finals. At present, HC Vsetin has the most wins in the league with 6 championships in total.

Since the 2006-2007 season, 3 points have been awarded to the winning team when won during regular time. For overtime games, 2 points are awarded to the winning team while the losing team receives only 1 point.

According to the 2007-2008 Czech Extralgia team rankings, the HC Ceske Budejovice ranks No.1 followed by HC Slavia Praha, with the Bili Tygri Liberec coming in 3rd place. The newest team on the league is the BK Mlada Boleslav.