Louis Oosthuizen is a professional golfer with an Official World Golf Ranking of No.4, which he reached in January 2013. In 2010, he won The Open Championship and in 2012, he finished 2nd in the Masters Tournament. He has also had runner-up finishes at the US Open and the PGA Championship.

Player Profile and Amateur Career

Lodewicus Theodorus “Louis” Oosthuizen was born on October 19, 1982 in Mossel Bay, South Africa. He currently splits his time between South Africa and Ocala, Florida in the United States.

Height / weight 1.75 m / 77 kg
Born 19 Oct 1982
Nationality South Africa South Africa
Nickname Louis

His amateur career was supported by Ernie Els’ foundation. In 2000, he won the World Junior Championship. The following year, he won several titles including the All African Games and the Transvaal Amateur Stroke Play Championship.


He started his career on the Sunshine Tour and won the 2004 Vodacom Origins of Golf Tournament, beating Keith Horne by one stroke. In 2007, he won three titles in the Sunshine Tour including the Dimensions Data Pro-Am and the Platinum Classic. While on the tour, he won the Africa Open twice.

His first win on the PGA Tour was the Open de Andalucia de Golf in 2010 where he bested Richard Finch and Peter Whiteford by three strokes. In the same year, he achieved his biggest PGA win, The Open Championship. In 2012, he came in second at the Masters Tournament. He lost to Bubba Watson in the Playoff.

A few years later in 2015, came in second at the US Open. He would come in second again in the same tournament in 2021. He also finished in the Top 2 of the PGA Championship in 2017 and 2021. In 2022, he joined the LIV Golf series and he resigned from the PGA and European Tours.

Career Highlights

Number of Wins by Tour

  • PGA Tour - 1
  • European Tour - 9
  • Asian Tour - 3
  • Sunshine Tour - 8
  • PGA Tour of Australasia - 1

Best Results in Major Championships

  • Masters Tournament - 2nd: 2012
  • PGA Championship - T2: 2017, 2021
  • U.S. Open - 2nd/T2: 2015, 2021
  • The Open Championship - Won: 2010

User Comments

Reply to