Dallas Cowboys

Sport American Football
Country United States United States
Home town Irving, Texas
Founding year 1960
Leagues National Football League,
National Football Conference
Website dallascowbo...

The Dallas Cowboys play in the National Football League and are part of the National Football Conference (NFC). The team, which was established in 1960, is in the East Division of the NFC. The Cowboys play their home games at Texas Stadium, which is located in Irving, Texas.

For almost 20 years, the Cowboys were a perennial playoff team, appearing in the post season for all but two years from 1966 through 1985. They then had another playoff run that spanned from 1991 through 1999, missing the second-season just once during that time. In the 21st century, they’ve been in the playoffs in 2003, 2006 and 2007.

The Cowboys have made 29 playoff appearances, winning 19 divisional championships, 10 conference titles and five Super Bowls. Their first Super Bowl Championship was captured in 1971 (VI) and their last was in 1995 (XXX). They were also victorious in 1977 (XIII), 1992 (XXVII) and 1993 (XXVIII). The Cowboys have made eight Super Bowl appearances, which is more than any other team. Prior to the establishment of the Super Bowl, Dallas won five NFL titles.

Clint Murchison and Bedford Wynne originally owned the team, which was first called the Steelers and then the Rangers. They hired Tex Schramm as general manager, Tom Landry as head coach and Gil Brandt as director of player personnel. This legendary trio would eventually create a team that personified winning. Landry coached the club for 29 years. In 1984, H.R. Bum Bright bought the franchise and in 1989 present owner Jerry Jones purchased the team.

Jones, known for his brashness, immediately fired future Hall of Fame coach Landry and hired Jimmy Johnson. Other head coaches under Jones included Barry Switzer, Dave Campo and Bill Parcells. Wade Phillips, who was hired in 2007 to head the club after Jones fired Parcells, is the present head man on the sidelines.

Some of the Hall of Fame players that have worn the Lone Star Dallas helmet include quarterbacks Roger Staubach (1969- 1979) and Troy Aikman (1989- 2000), cornerback Mel Renfro (1964- 1977), defensive tackle Randy White (1975- 1988) and running back Tony Dorsett (1977- 1987).

Staubach threw for a total of 22,700 yards and 153 touchdowns, while Aikman covered 32,942 yards in the air and hit for 165 scores. Renfro notched 52 interceptions, running three in for touchdowns. White’s stats include 1,104 tackles and 111 sacks. Dorsett scored 92 touchdowns while rushing for 12,739 yards.

From 1960 to 1971, the Cowboys played in the Cotton Bowl. They have called Texas Stadium their home since 1971. They are scheduled to occupy a new stadium in 2009 in Arlington, Texas. Nicknames for the team have included America’s Team, the Big D and The Boys. Dallas was also the first NFL franchise to become known for its cheerleading squad, which typically has performed better than the team in the recent past.

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by ericgr
  • Share this page:

Match Results

Dallas Cowboys

Dallas Cowboys played a game against Philadelphia Eagles that ended in a draw ( - ) National Football League -

Dallas Cowboys

Dallas Cowboys played a game against Arizona Cardinals that ended in a draw ( - ) National Football League -

Washington Redskins

Washington Redskins played a game against Dallas Cowboys that ended in a draw ( - ) National Football League -

Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles played a game against Dallas Cowboys that ended in a draw ( - ) National Football League -

Latest Articles

Tiny american football

Randy Gregory Suspended Indefinitely AGAIN for Fourth Substance Policy Violation

By now, it should come as no surprise that Dallas Cowboy’s Defensive End, Randy Gregory, is suspended yet again for violating the NFL’s substance abuse policy as well as the terms of his conditional reinstatement. The team made the announcement on February 26, 2019.Not the First Time for RandyThis is the fourth time that Randy Gregory has been susp... Continue reading

The Domination Of Texas Sports

The Domination Of Texas Sports

Texas loves sports and sports love Texas! You can’t follow sports and avoid Texas teams Continue reading

Tiny american football

The NFC vs the AFC

Although the National Football Conference (NFC) has dominated the American Football Conference (AFC) in recent National Football League (NFL) title games, fans with 2015 Super Bowl tickets should expect a more competitive game than last year’s Seattle Seahawks blowout win over the Denver Broncos.Since the 1970 merger between the NFL and the America... Continue reading

Tiny american football

New Super Bowl Odds

New Super Bowl OddsWild Card upsets have created a shakeup on the NFL future odds scene, as one of the big favourites from the pre-season, and a popular choice heading into the playoffs, the Patriots were eliminated. Also exiting stage right were the Cincinnati Bengals, the Philadelphia Eagles and in the wildest of the Wild Card games, the Green Ba... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    vikingsfan Please support football by purchasing vikings tickets at http://www.vikingtickets.org/

    over 9 years ago

Team Roster

Name Position
Miles Austin wide receiver
Sam Hurd wide receiver

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
No team like Dallas 4
The Cowboys rule 2
Super Bowl here we go 4
I love the Cowboys 2
Where is T.O.? 4