The NFL’s Chicago Bears are part of the National Football Conference (NFC) and are in the conference’s North Division. The Bears were established in 1919 and have been located in Chicago, Illinois since 1921. They play their home games at Solider Field.

Chicago has a long winning tradition, which includes 25 playoff appearances and nine league titles—8 NFL championships and one Super Bowl win. They’ve also garnered 17 Division and four Conference Championships. In 1985, they hammered the New England Patriots 46- 10 in Super Bowl XX. That was their only Super Bowl victory.

Country United States United States
City Chicago
Founded 1919

The club was originally named the Decatur Stanleys. The A.E. Staley Company first established the team in 1919 in Decatur, Illinois. George Halas, the legendary coach of team, renamed them the Bears in 1922. He also decided that the team colors would be dark blue and orange, matching those of the University of Illinois, which was Halas’ alma mater.

In their early years, Chicago dominated the league, winning NFL championships in 1921, 1932, 1933, 1940, 1941, 1943 and 1946. Since 1960, they have won just two more championships, including one more NFL title in 1963 and their only Super Bowl Championship.

The franchise moved to Chicago in 1921 and played at Wrigley from that year until 1970. They then made Soldier Field their home from 1971- 2001, and after a one-year hiatus where they played at Memorial Stadium in 2002, went back to a totally rebuilt Solider Field. They still play their home games there.

Hall of Fame players who have worn the Chicago uniform include quarterback Sid Luckman (1940- 1947), linebacker Dick Butkus (1965- 1973), running back Gale Sayers (1965- 1971) and running back Walter Payton (1975- 1987).

Luckman threw for 14,686 yards and 137 touchdown passes. The Bears retired his number (42). In his career, Butkus made 1,020 tackles, grabbed 22 interceptions and gathered up 27 fumbles. Sares rushed for 4,956 yards, earning 48 touchdowns. He averaged 5.0 YPC. Payton ran for 16,726 yards and 110 touchdowns, while averaging 4.4 YPC

Virginia Halas McCaskey has owned the Chicago Bears since 1983. Prior owners include the A.E. Staley Company (1919- 1921), George Halas and Dutch Sherman (1921- 1932) and Halas (1932- 1963).

The team’s mascot is Staley the Bear and their nicknames include Da Bears and the Monsters of the Midway. The team won their last conference title in 2006.