The NFL’s New York Giants are part of the National Football Conference (NFC) and in the East Division. The club, which was formed in 1925, first played in the NFL’s Eastern Division. They have been in the NFC East since 1970 and since 1976 have played their home games at Giants Stadium, which is located in East Rutherford, NJ.

Before moving to New Jersey, the Giants played at the Polo Grounds (1925- 1955), Yankee Stadium (1956- 1973), Yale Bowl (1973- 1974) and Shea Stadium (1975).

The Giants were especially strong contenders from 1927- 1938, when they won three NFL Championships (1927, 1934, 1938). From 1933- 1946, they competed in eight championship games. In the late 50’s and early 60’s they earned six conference titles (1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963) and one league championship (1956). New York has been victorious in three Super Bowls—1986 (XXI), 1990 (XXV) and 2007 (XLII). In their latest Super Bowl win, they upset the heavily favored New England Patriots 17- 14.

Country United States United States
City East Rutherford, NJ
Founded 1925

Hall of Fame players include offensive lineman Mel Hein (1931- 1945), tight end Red Badgro (1927- 1936, with the Giants from 1930- 1935), running back Tuffy Leemans (1936- 1943), running back/wide receiver Frank Gifford (1952- 1964), quarterback Y.A. Tittle (1951- 1964, with the Giants from 1961- 1964), offensive tackle Roosevelt Brown (1953- 1965), quarterback Fran Tarkenton (1961- 1978, with the Giants from 1967- 1971) and linebacker Lawrence Taylor (1981- 1993).

The versatile Gifford rushed for a total of 3,609 yards and had 5,434 receiving yards, crossing the goal line 77 times. Tittle compiled 28,339 yards and hit pay dirt 242 times, while Tarkenton threw for a total of 47,003 yards and hit for 342 touchdowns. Taylor compiled 1,088 tackles and 142 sacks, while capturing 9 interceptions.

John Mara and Steve Tisch presently own the club, while Jerry Reese serves as GM and Tom Coughlin takes care of the head coaching duties. The team colors are blue and red. In the past, the team was called the New York Football Giants to differentiate them from the baseball Giants, who also made their team in New York. When the baseball team moved to San Francisco there was no longer any reason to designate the NFL club as a football team. There is no team mascot.