The San Francisco 49ers play in the National Football Conference (NFC) of the NFL. The team, which was founded in 1946, plays in the West Division. The 49ers were first part of the All-American Football Conference’s Western Division. Anthony J. “Tony” Morabito initially owned the team.

The 49ers became a member of the NFL in 1950, first playing in the National Conference (1950-1952). They then became a part of the Western Conference (1953-1969), playing in the Coastal Division from 1967-1969. When the AFL and NFL merged in 1970, San Francisco became associated with the NFC West, in which they presently compete.

Country United States United States
City San Francisco, California
Founded 1946
National Football League
National Football Conference

The team dominated the NFL in the 1980s, winning four Super Bowls. In 1981, they won Super Bowl XVI, beating the Cincinnati Bengals 26-21. The 49ers forced five turners in the first-half of that game, going into the locker room with a 20-0 lead. In 1984’s Super Bowl XIX, the club hammered the Miami Dolphins 38-16. Super Bowl XXIII, which topped off the 1988 season, saw San Francisco and Cincinnati meet once again. This time the 49ers won by a 20-16 score. The final championship game of the decade, Super Bowl XXIV, resulted in a Frisco blowout of the Denver Broncos, with the 49ers winning 55-10.

The 49ers have sent more than a dozen players and coaches to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, including coach Bill Walsh (1979-1988), running back Joe Perry (1948-1960 and 1963 49ers; 1961-1962 Baltimore Colts), and quarterbacks Joe Montana (1979-1992 49ers and 1993-1994 Kansas City Chiefs) and Steve Young (1984-1985 Los Angeles Express; 1985-1986 Tampa Bay Buccaneers; and 1987-1999 49ers).

Bill Walsh coached the 49ers to three Super Bowl victories. During his time with San Francisco, Walsh became a guru of the West Coast Offense. He retired with a career record of 92-59. Running back Joe Perry rushed for a total of 8,378 yards, averaging 4.8 yards per carry. Perry, who scored 53 touchdowns, was a three-time Pro Bowler. He’s a member of the NFL 1950s All-Decade Team.

Quarterback Joe Montana won four Super Bowls and was selected as the game MVP three times. An eight-time Pro Bowler and nine-time All-Pro, Montana tossed 273 touchdowns and 139 interceptions. He retired with a QB rating of 92.3 and a total of 40,551 passing yards.

In his first few years with San Francisco, Young was Joe Montana’s backup, proving to be a standout sub. He played on three 49er championship teams, earning the Super Bowl XXIX MVP award. He was a seven-time selection as a Pro Bowler and an All-Pro. In 1992, Young was the NFL Offensive Player of the Year. Over the course of his career, the QB threw 232 touchdowns for a total of 33,124 yards. He retired with a QB rating of 96.8.

Since 1971, the 49ers have played in Candlestick Park. The venue has been known by various names, including Candlestick Park from 1971-1994. It was renamed 3Com Park in 1995 and then called San Francisco Stadium at Candlestick Point in 2003. From 2004-2007, it was known as Monster Park. Finally, in 2007 the stadium was named in honor of Bill Walsh, who had passed on that year. It is presently known as Bill Walsh Field at Monster Park. Its nickname is “The Monster.” The team mascot is Sourdough Sam, also known as Sam, Sammy, Samster, Sammiester, Samarama, and Samalamadingdong. Sam is a prototypical miner panning for gold.

Mike Nolan has been the head coach of the 49ers since 2007. His record with the team is 16-32-0. Scott McCloughan, who was 49er Vice President of Player Personnel, has served as the club’s GM since January 2, 2008. The team is owned by Denise DeBartolo York and John York.

Team Roster

Name Position
Brandon Aiyuk United States wide receiver
Nick Bosa United States defensive end
David Carr United States quarterback
Frank Gore United States
George Kittle United States tight end
Josh Morgan United States wide receiver
Deebo Samuel United States wide receiver
Alex Smith United States quarterback
Troy Smith United States quarterback
Fred Warner United States linebacker